Next Wins 2016 NSW Sydney 38 Championship

29 Nov No Comments admin_iss 2016, News

Phil Tomkins and his crew on Next from CYCA has won the 2016 NSW Sydney 38 Championship contested at RPAYC in early November.  Next, fully equipped by Ian Short Sails,  finished 1st Overall and 1st Corinthian with 3 guns from 6 races.

Racing took place in very challenging conditions on day 1, with racing delayed due to strong westerlies.  Race 1 saw winds around 35 knots  at times and Races 2 & 3 were also sailed in challenging conditions. After the three heavy weather races on Day 1, Next held a slender lead over the field.

The final day of racing took place in Broken Bay lighter and more variable conditions prevailing. Next again prevailed, picking the right side of the course in shifting breezes.

Earlier in the year, Next finished equal first in the NSW IRC Championships.